Workaholic (Original Short Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20180112-031431.png

This is a short poem I wrote in response to a challenge. The idea was to have 4 lines with 140 characters or less.

Workaholic

Withdrawing into my busy-ness
lost in a forest of tasks
the casualty, my friendliness
No time to pour from my flask

=============================
Lately, I have found myself a bit overwhelmed with work. It's not so much that I love work...which I do, for the most part, but that I am not very responsible with my time. I feel like I swallow time the way an alcoholic does with drink. When doing something that I enjoy or that has my focus, I end up neglecting other things. The victims of that deficiency are my friends and family. I have also been neglecting all of my poet friends here on Steemit as well. I hope to end that soon. We'll see. Do you guys suffer from any such vices? How have you been able to deal with them?
=============================
moeknows_red.png
=============================
thealliance2.png

Sort:  

I think everyone is guilty of this at some point in their life. I know I am. The introduction of social media doesn't help much either. It may help keep in touch with people you wouldn't normally keep up with, but it hinders those sitting next to you. A good way to tackle it is by making to do lists, setting goals, and limiting certain activities.

I agree. However limiting those activities is very difficult at times, but such is the struggle of life. If it weren't fro the bad, we'd never recognize the good. Thanks for upvoting and commenting.

It might defeat the purpose, but I feel this has room to go. I'd do it by making each stanza adhere to the above condition, and yet, have them all add up to one work.

"A forest of tasks" is a great metaphor. A sea of trees to drown out sight and sound of all else.

So that's where you've gone. I will admit to being a bit worried.

As for myself, yes, very much so. I throw myself into any thing I do, which means everything else tends to get left behind. I can only focus fully on one thing at a time, and I rarely split my focus.

It might defeat the purpose, but I feel this has room to go. I'd do it by making each stanza adhere to the above condition, and yet, have them all add up to one work.

Already working on it, not for this poem, but another.

Thanks for the kind words. Yeah, I have just been a little too busy to get to everything I want to be able to. Hyper-focus is both a blessing and a curse.

Nice post master ...
I appreciate so much ...
Thanks a lot of sharing your valuable post ...

I've never been called a Master before. Umm...you're welcome....umm, padowan.

Like how busy-ness make me think of business and how they intermingle

Thank you. They sure do, though often our busy-ness can be attributed to someone else's business rather than our own. Thanks for stopping by and commenting and upvoting.

Describes my week so far very well. But I do love my job despite the long hours.

They say if you love your job, you'll never work a day in your life. I love mine as well.

Yes, an angle of the same feeling wouldnt just be Workaholic.... But Distractaholic. Easier sometimes to disapear into the fun stimulating steemit world than real life that requires focus and unpleasantness...etc.

But I have been doing too much steemit world lately....and ignoring IRL.

THIS NOT GOOD.
:-/

I feel you. Yes, I have that problem as well, and it is not good. What makes it worse is that I actually really care about my peeps IRL, but allow distractions to take away from my time with them as if I didn't. Such is our dilemma. Thanks for commenting and upvoting.

Yes....my master, @em3, should listen to his own advice more...

Can't have a #healthy-home if you ignore your IRL family and friends.
Let's make a plan.....!
Peace

True-dat. *Gotta follow this account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45