The Sniper - day 10 of 100

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

PaperArtist_2018-03-17_13-29-50.jpg

The Sniper

He sneaks into place
Undetected
Having stalked his prey
Setting up for the kill
He lays prone
Positions his weapon
Hands in perfect position
Finger caressing the trigger
Zeros in his sights
Takes aim
Squeeze

I look up just in time
to catch him in the act
As the round is loosed from his rifle
I react for naught
As I’m hit in the heart
I smile
Then fall to the ground
Bleeding pride all over

PaperArtist_2018-03-17_13-30-02.jpg

image.png

Submitted for the steemitschool poetry challenge. Join us: https://discord.gg/hyfYQ9P

=============================
moeknows_red.png
=============================
thealliance2.png
=============================
BCPLogoMoeknows4 - small.PNG
Join the new Discord channel dedicated specifically to poetry
Block Chain Poets
Where poets support other poets.

Sort:  

I was able to edit this post 4 months after it's date thanks to @timcliff and his beta Unlimited content editing tool. Thanks to @timcliif and @creatr for getting this done.

Hi @moeknows! Actually I initiated the 30 day haiku challenge which I finished months ago and so are the other steemians. But because I really like the challenge, I continued doing the haiku. Thank you so much for joining the challenge but I would be very happy if you use #thirtydayhaikuchallenge as one of your tags. Thank you so much!

Choosing enemies is choosing the means of one own fall. Loved the poem and the ending was just right.

by the time the photo resolves and you know what you are seeing, the crosshairs found you and it is long too late, =-)p

Thankful you returned that pride to the Earth, sir narrator, the earth earned it - fun read, Moe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94