You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Old and Bitter (A Winter-time Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago

What I pulled from this piece is a feeling of unfulfilled hopefulness. I liked the way the metaphors used mythology to magnify this feeling . As a reader, I can almost understand why he would want to simply take it all with him, in the end, even though I would never condone such an idea at the human level. The result is an uneasy recognition of a strange beauty. Nice write.

Sort:  

Thank you for the kind words :)

But, since this is an interesting topic, even if you don't condone it when people actually do something, isn't that part of why we have fiction for? To explore ideas that we can't, or wouldn't accept in the real world? To see, say, an example case of where someone "revenge killing" or what have you could be almost acceptable?

And yes, I digress, but conversations are fun :)

Yes. Absolutely. I mention my disapproval just to set a reference point to illustrate the effect that the poem had on me. It's really a validation of exactly what you just said. I'm a bit uneasy in the beauty I see in it because in the real world, I would see none.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12