@moeknows Broke Haiku Contest 5 plus last week's winner

in #poetry7 years ago

What's up, Steemians?

We had two submissions and two winners last week. @tinajordan turned up the heat this week with her steemy (you see what I did there?) 'ku. I think it might have had something to do with the snow melting in @nichi's poem. For their efforts, they each received a small prize. Hey, we don't call this a broke-ass contest for nothing. Hopefully this week will bring in more entries.

Well, Let's get on with it, shall we?

===========================================
WEEK 5

All SBD paid to me goes to the winner.

Hello. I've never done a contest/challenge here on Steemit before, so I figured now is as good a time as any to start.

I have always loved haiku/senryu. If you are not familiar with the form, here is a formal definition for the purists, but...I am not a purist. So, for this contest, we will go with a much more liberal definition....my own. The rules are as follows:

  1. The haiku must contain 3 lines
  2. The first line must be 5 syllables
  3. The second line must be 7 syllables
  4. The third line must be 5 syllables
  5. The haiku may be titled, but it is not required
  6. The haiku may have 1 image, but it is not required
  7. The haiku may not have more than 1 image
  8. Images may not contain written words (copywrite credits fine)
  9. You must upvote AND resteem this post in order to be eligible.
  10. Post your actual haiku and any related images in the comments below. You can make another post if you like, but I'm not going to be chasing down links.

Grading criteria:

-I alone will choose the winner.
-I favor poems that achieve depth within the confines of the form.
-I like clever poems
-I like poems with a twist
-I prefer that each line is a a complete statement or idea. Meaning there is a clear pause between lines (just a preference)

Prize:

All SBD paid to the author on this post. I may throw in some more if I can, but I'm broke (hence the name of the contest). Hopefully, it will get popular and the prize will be increased in subsequent contests. I will also upvote using some of the bots, if i can.

Sort:  

Is there a theme each week, or is it open?

No ma'am, but maybe in the future. For now, it's just anything.

Thanks for coming and visiting. I am lousy with poetry - otherwise, I would try it. I am going to let it sink in and see if something rises to the surface :)

Once again
we can trade links
are you back?
what do you think?

Of course, brother. This would be great. Let the poets submit and test their fate.

Congratulations @moeknows! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks for attending Pimp Your Post Thursday @moeknows. I have written a post to share your featured post from last night. Just stopping back to let you know that you can see your [name in lights](https://steemit.com/pypt/@shadowspub/pimp-your-post-thursday-report-6b-evening-report-from-nov-23rd-pypt) right here. (Just kidding about the lights :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50