Flex (Original poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Go ahead
Play me for a sheep
Step up if you want
But you might swallow teeth
Cuz I got a fire underneath
And I'm down to burn beef
So let's get this war started
Till the heavy hearted turn cheek
Please, make the mistake
And take me for weak...
I'll take all this hate
And make you to bleat
When you speak...
To me
You better come with respect
Fucking around with this sheep
Might get your chin checked
Have a blessed day

============================

You ever have one of those days when people for some reason or another feel like it's a good reason to test you? I think it's because I tend to be soft spoken, but don't mistake that for fear. I age like a poison tree, and that shit can come back to haunt fools that underestimate the consequences of wronging me.

PS
1SBD goes to the first person who guesses where the poison tree reference comes from.

Sort:  

The poem by William Blake?

This is such a well-written weaving of words.

Ahhh. You're welcome. I was trying to get here and reply to you before you saw it. Sorry for it taking a bit to get to you. I saw it earlier, but couldn't transfer or respond until I got back to my computer.

Yes. A Poison Tree is one of my favorite poems and is probably responsible for me being into poetry at all. So I'm glad you knew it.

I also appreciate the complement. Thank you.

Congratulations @moeknows! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Oooh such power in these verses!

Please, make the mistake
And take me for weak...
I'll take all this hate
And make you to bleat
When you speak...

Thank you. I was really feeling it when I wrote this. I appreciate the kind words.

Well deserved and I felt it, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44