Finding Balance (Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago

This poem is a bit of a riddle. It's about being able to find balance.

balance.JPG

Finding Balance

Poets pressed at their behest
To find the reason for my rhyme
I've never claimed to be the best
though I jest that I am from time to time
So I riddle little clues to bruise
the fabric of their mind
In hopes that they see through my ruse
and choose to read between the line

=============================
Poetry is a cipher. It is a way of encrypting reality and bending it using the author's experiences, views, thoughts and feelings as the key. I don't know about others, but I often the metaphors that I use tend to be a little too obscure. The algorithms I've used are a bit too personal or too unique to be deciphered by my audience. Does that make my poetry bad? Well, yes and no. All poetry has a purpose, and the answer to the question depends on the purpose of the piece. Some poems aren't meant the general population. They are meant to be personal reflections for the author themselves. In which case, the complexity of the metaphor doesn't matter because the author will understand. Others have a specific agenda to push or point to make. With these, it is best to base your metaphors on common experiences that your audience can relate to. The key for an author is to find the balance between the two.

This poem is meant to be obscure. For some, it's effect will be easy, others will read it a few times and never see it deciding to move on to something else. Both reactions are valid and appreciated.

=============================
moeknows_red.png
=============================
thealliance2.png

Sort:  

Glad you posted the poem below. My brain was starting to hurt reading it in the picture ><

Imagine how hard it was to write it like that...which I did.

This post has been included in the latest issue of 'Notes'. Do stop in and see what the fam is up to!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59488.68
ETH 2538.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52