Boys' Eulogy (Original spoken word poem)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

A picture will show here
image credit pixabay

Click here for sound

Boys Eulogy

=
We punch love
And connect on kicks
sticks are swords
And words are fists
and tears don't fall
When all's amiss
proud to bear palls
We're walls affixed

So call your wrecking balls
to break our bricks
we'll clinch our jaws
and ball our fists
then answer the call
With balls and grit
and fight and fall
and claw and spit

We'll die for it all
before we call it quits
Leave the tearfall to y'all
when we're done with it
Because we're fathers
And brothers and sons legit
and we fight one another
for the fun of it
But we'll die for each other
If it comes to it
Suffice to sacrifice
we, our lives commit

So when we die,
Take this poem
and eulogize with it
for the boys who punched love
and learned to fight with it
so the words we never spoke
are realized in it
and all the tears we've choked
are given lives again

=============================

I wrote this poem for the men in my family. It is a characterization of the way we express love and other emotions. When I say "We punch love" I do not mean that we attack love. I mean that we show love through punches. This occurs especially between brothers. Some may see this as odd, but it is our way. Thanks for reading.

moeknows_red.png

thealliance2.png

This post is powering up with 100% SP

Sort:  

Congratulations. This poem is featured in this week's Muxxybot Poetry Curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-poetry-curation-10

Thank you. This is such an honor.

Well written and I think in some ways outer family could relate to this back when I was young

Thanks. Yeah, we still punch love. It's not unheard of for one of my brothers to punch me in the arm and run away, even as grown men, LOL. One of the major ways I bond with my son is to play fight with him.

Me and my stepson do it occassionaly as well :)

Thanks. for stopping by and thanks for the upvote.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @moeknows to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team. If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Thank you! I appreciate it. I accept.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51