17 Rounds (Original Haiku)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

ammunition-3043023_1280.png
Image credit, pixabay
I usually try to write some kind of filler statement when I post a haiku because I don't like the format of the blurb that gets populated with the image of the post.

17 Rounds
Lim it ed Am mo
High ca pa ci ty mags, banned
Must, make them all count!

=============================
I like short poems. Well, I like long ones too, but I like the challenge of short poems. It makes one think of a better way to say or not say something. There is an art in communicating an idea without explicit action. There is also a power in that. When the idea can come into someone's mind through their own journey, the meaning will hold greater importance to them. It is the essence of poetry in my opinion.
=============================
moeknows_red.png
=============================
thealliance2.png

Sort:  

I like the comma after the 'Must' in the last line. To me it's like the 'must' is like I must do this (write the poem) and the limited syllables of the continuation 'make them all count!' is a demand onto yourself.

First reading I was not careful enough to notice this, which made it feel flat, but when I went through again I appreciated the grammatical intricacy.

Thank you! I love it when someone analysis my poems. When I wrote that line, I envisioned someone bloody and broken struggling to load and aim a pistol. LOL. Thank you for your comment.

I see what you did there. Each syllable is a "bullet". Must-make-them-all-count. Mission accomplished. Well done.

Thanks a lot for sharing your valuable post....
Best of luck..
I will still
wait your next post....

Funny story, here is how I've read this piece: "Wait, why aren't the words in the last line split apart? And if you just wrote it all normally, it could be a Haiku.

Wait, it is a haiku! Oooooh!"

I like the nature that this speaks of itself. Though I would have liked each word to be a single bullet, though that is hard. And now I'm thinking of 6-word-fiction stories as stories shot through a revolver.

I like it, though the gun imagery doesn't speak to me as much.

As to your notion at the end, I think one can do it with many words as well, just that too many people use the words to try and explain everything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50