m o n i q u e

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

When I was very young, I had a speech impediment.

m.
18CCC2FC-7D0D-4405-B8E4-ED627888C59F.jpeg

I could not pronounce many letters.

o.
043FCFAD-742F-4DDD-9079-1F2FFE03F9CF.jpeg

When I got older, although my speech had been corrected,

n.
2BF9E750-BFAB-48CA-8849-879753B56459.jpeg

I’ve always struggled with self-consciousness about my pronunciation.

i.
01163F92-4626-4AA9-B9EB-415CB7DD6B28.jpeg

I took theater classes.

q.
EF8891B6-4258-417F-8132-39C2226B13DD.jpeg

I’ve been told I articulate beautifully.

u.
90221DF5-888E-4EDF-86CC-72C004B228A2.jpeg

but I’ve still struggled.

e.
A3E29AC3-1065-4A86-BF37-782EC7C81CDD.jpeg

And with my hands,
I never learned to speak,
Beyond the letters of my name,
A lack of time maybe,
a lack of necessity?

But my hands have always wanted even less attention than my speech.
I bite my nails,
and cuticles,
When I feel nervous.
Don’t look too close.
Don’t listen too closely.

My speech was corrected
when I was very young.
But my communication skills
are still
a work in progress.

xx monique

Sort:  

Our imperfections makes us human

Posted using Partiko Android

That is so true!
And so do our fears.

Such a lovely personal post. I'm sorry to hear that you struggled when you were a child and that it kind of stayed with you until now. I struggled to pronounce R and nobody did anything about that so I can't pronounce R until now :) It's impossible to learn it correctly at my age...

I don't bite my nails but I do cuticles so I can relate to your photos :) I like the way you edited them. Even thought it's just hands showing signs, those photos are so emotional.

Thank you for sharing!

Thank you so much for this response. I have learned to love the parts of my voice that are unique, but I also appreciate the sounds I was given access to through speech lessons as a child..

I think having speech problems has helped me in the long run because I think before I speak, especially when I’m feeling emotional.

I’m glad you could relate to the photos.. but also sorry.. it’s mostly cuticles for me too— ouch!!!

I understand what you mean. I also struggle when I'm emotional and sometimes speak the way nobody can understand me :) But well, we all have some flaws :)

What a phenomenal way of communicating your struggles with communication. I truly empathise, I struggle with communication, even though, I have no obvious impediment.
You, @mo-nique are absolutely brilliant!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much!

I think a lot more people struggle with communication (internally if not externally) than are willing to admit.

It’s much easier to get better when we recognize our faults :)

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors.

We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the lookout for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)

Thank you for this poem, not only was it suiting to read, it was motivational. Go @mo-nique go. I struggle with communication when im angry.. I think i have a sought of speech impediment too but only when i get angry. I loose all sense of communication. Can be a 'speech-ache'. Lol

Thank you so much!! I’m glad you could relate.

Our emotions have so much more power over us than we recognize..

"Don’t look too close.
Don’t listen too closely."

You are saying words for me right here. I do not have the same issues as you do, but the ones I have make me feel just like this. I think you are really doing well to articulate what is going on in your head and I am so glad I got to see this today.

Thank you for this thoughtful response.

It’s crazy how some moments I want to be the center of attention and some moments I want to be invisible, noticed by no one. I’ve been trying to recognize my specific insecurities so that I can face them. It’s okay to be insecure about my imperfections, but it’s good to know why I fed the ways I do (mostly western beauty standards, comparing myself to women around me and the patriarchy). I can work on the ones I have control of, and accept myself for you I am.

Truly, this poem is greatly penned
Each stanza paints great pictures in the mind — love the image it painted.

Keep writing, @mo-nique!

You are most welcome dear poet friend!
I look forward to reading some of your poems, @mo-nique!

Hi mo-nique,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

So dope.
Excellent news 🎉❤️😝

Hi mo-nique,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

This is so beautiful.. I love how the photos are black and white that spell your name.. and your name sounds like unique :D

thank you! Yes many teachers when I was young thought it was fun to call me “unique Monique” 😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.26
ETH 2668.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79