Cleaning to move

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

I’m cleaning out
Beneath my bed
Because I’m moving
And the last thing I want to find
When I move back,
Is even older memories
Than the ones I’m finding now.

D7091007-E5F3-45C4-BCC2-BD6A2754AD88.jpeg

For instance I found an envelope
Addressed to the first of 3 people who studied trees
That I cared for
in a row
And another
full of your family photos.
they must have been mixed
into one of my baskets
when we moved
It’s funny because there is also
A love note from me
between photos
That I slipped into your lunch box
One morning when
I didn’t have class
And you did
And a drawing from your ex
before me
That I knew about
It wasn’t a secret drawing
Just a happy memory of yours
amongst the others
Of family
And friends
So I’m certain
These were accidentally
Left if my things
Back when
it seemed okay
to have everything mixed up
together
because at least one of us
didn’t see
the months
and maybe years
of detanglement
In my future.

Anyways,
these are not photos of our memories,
Together.
they belong only to you.
And your mother
And your father
And your sister
And maybe the two friends
From high school
Who appear in there as well
So you may have them back.
Unlike your t shirt
Which I didn’t even
Notice I was wearing
Until I wrote this
Because it’s really
my t shirt now
Sorry.

xx Monique

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75