Art Prompt Writing Contest #2 - Eye of the Storm

in #poetry7 years ago

This is my entry into @gmuxx prompt writing contest. Being I'm in Florida preparing for a hurricane, there was clearly one story that fit! Hopefully I got this in on time.

Eye of the Storm

Round and round and round you go. Clouds circling you like a drain with no place to go. You are moving over the sea closer to me. Inching along day by day, you have us all worried and wondering if we should stay.

Hurry, hurry, hurry get everything prepped! Cover the windows and lock the doors, we need to huddle in here with our supplies, water and snacks. Should we have bought more?

I can see you because your eye is aimed for me. The clouds that swirl around you seem very angry indeed. I know you are near as I can feel your force, the rain whips against my roof as my home can feel you run your course.

Darkness falls on us as the lights go out. The power is gone you took it completely out. Sitting tense with flashlights on; waiting for this rumble to finally subside.

I hear a slowing of the wind and the force of the rain seems to be getting weak. Have you moved on from me? Has our home completed the survival feat?

Remaining seated on the floor, flash light in hand. Waiting for something to happen, the suspense is just killing me man!

Where are you? You’re eye I cannot see. Damn it, tell me! Have you moved on from me?

As the calmness continues to progress, I’m starting to feel less and less stressed. Whew, got through that unharmed, no damage or falling trees. Thank goodness my home is still standing free.

I really think we are finally in the clear. Wait a second, what is that? It’s starting to rain again, the sky is getting darker. Oh no, it looks like it’s the return of our friend!

Turns out your eye was looking directly down at me. That focused calm that led me to think it was over, damn I believed!

Those dark clouds that swirl are back in front of me, this is ridiculous you are absolutely killing me.

Hunker down everyone, it is about to be round two. When this bout will end, man I really wish I knew.

The rain starts to slap against my housing wall, the roof sounds like crackles as the storm continues to fall. Rumbling of my structure, this is worse than before. We all huddle together, praying the walls will hold.

Slapping and shaking you give us your best hit. Minute after minute, when will you tire and quit? My poor home is holding strong, but she’s just not built for this. Sweat drips of my brow as I now see from the ceiling a slow steady drip.

Please roof, please. Just hold on for the rest of this. It will be over soon and I promise I’ll upgrade you to be prepared for this.
I hear the sound of the rain begin to die down. I’m going to be much more patient this time around.

Seconds pass, now minutes too. The wrath of your fury has clearly subdued. Thank god this is over, me and my home were about to come unglued.

Steemit_txtdvidr.png
Regards,
Mitchell J

Sort:  

Yup, you pretty much captured the essence of going through one of these, which is why I'm outta here!

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64168.93
ETH 2768.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72