You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Writing Letters - Original Poetry

in #poetry6 years ago

Very poignant. (thats a cool word. I like unusual words. Bet you do too.) Indeed, our new world provides trade-offs. I can communicate with people I'd never in a million years have even met in far off places like Luxembourg, and the Maldives, or South Africa, but my sister in another state gets a txt msg. Oh, my...

Sort:  

And yes, I love cool and unusual words.

If you'd like some new ones, I strongly recommend books by Robertson Davies, a Canadian author and scholar whose books regularly send me to my dictionary, which is a rarity among authors these days.

And his books are wonderful meandering journeys among characters and places that you'll come to deeply care about before he is finished. Truly one of the greats, at least for me.

My favorite of those I've read is "Murther and Walking Spirits," which opens with a man being murdered by his wife's lover after walking in on them, whereupon he finds himself suddenly transported to a movie theatre, where he begins seeing scenes from his life and the lives of his ancestors play out on the big screen before him, with the man who just murdered him as his companion. Definitely not your standard fare.

He is a thinking person's author, occasionally makes you really work for it, but always it is a worthwhile endeavor, as his breadth of knowledge (he was a college professor) makes each book a joy, and a rare gem. I only wish he had written more.

I also recommend "The Deptford Trilogy," which brings three of his finest novels together into one volume; and "Ghost Stories," which is a collection of his shorter stories about ghosts. Great stuff all.

I'll check him out. Always looking for good authors to read. Thanks.

You're welcome!

He and Christopher Moore are the two authors I recommend the most often, because they are both outstanding.

Moore, if you're not familiar with him, is hilarious and delightfully twisted. His books are fast reads and an absolute blast.

Yeah, that sounds about right. I tried recommending "Love thine enemies" once, when my sister was on a hate-fueled rant on Facebook, and got unfriended for my efforts.

Ha! Much easier than actual discussion and working things out.

Pretty much.

I must say, though, that FB became instantly less stressful without all her negative posts.

I love her, but she can be hard to take, though I have little doubt she would say the same of me.

Well, obviously she suffered from OSHPS as a child. (Older sister hair pulling syndrome).

LOL - Thanks for the laugh! That MUST be it! ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60252.67
ETH 2426.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44