For Each Stair I Climb, The Company Thins

in #poetry7 years ago

"What has you torn?" my mate asked me, seeing my typical aloof behavior manifesting. Right on schedule, too.

"Nothing," and I give that reassuring smile that says me, and the world, isn't slowly dying.

"Stop thinking about them, it's torture. Have fun."

But fun is a hot butter knife and I'm hard bread. And when the knife falls I can't help thinking how much I miss them -

fantasy-2506830_960_720.jpg

That diamond cut can't compensate

not when we're drilling bedrock and killing bits

not when we're wearing masks that makes men mice

it can't be like this, not like this.


You're the place the virgins gather

and holy men recite their lists

The place where love gets lost in laughter

It can't be like this, not like this.


Perilous, if they only knew

the bloated storm clouds birthing rains

and whispered in the morning dew

"It can't be like this, not again."

"Oi, space cadet, it's time to go."

I'll go. But each moment, without you, is a hot butter knife and I'm hard bread. I miss you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52740.91
ETH 2362.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.09