Poem - An Endless Path

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

I've been thinking a lot about the afterlife recently, how energy moves forward when we die, and what becomes of us and all we hold dear during our time here - It's something that gives me quite a bit of anxiety, so I wrote some poetry just to ease myself - Hope you enjoy!

The Endless Path

Following footsteps on dusty paths
I've walked this road before
And all the steps that were taken here
Were made by feet my own
I have no memory of the way
Just nostalgia in my heart
And though the path is never straight
I've moved forward from the start

I've been greeted by the same old friends
Though different masks they wear
They ruminate on this journey's end
Somehow this path is also their's
And I dare not hold a name to face
For with each new step a memory's lost
From life to life, we'll meet again
From death to death we pay the cost

This path has spread forever
From the birth of atoms to beyond black holes
And I've been walking it forever
Through every organism of my soul
Every life that I have entered
Every single death I've ever dared
We will live and die eternally
But I now know this path is shared

The footsteps here were never mine
Yet were never any others'
They are just markings made by time
A universal experience that's left it smothered
Following the spiral of creation
This path is never done
The end is but an illusion
The direction is all, and all is one

Thanks for reading, Please share your thoughts on death and the possibility of reincarnation with me, it's a really interesting topic! If you like the poem please leave a like and follow me @migzillion for more.

Image Source: http://yogaformodernage.com

Sort:  

I really loved the line :

'I have no memory of the way
Just nostalgia in my heart'

This poem really dives deep into this topic, and you vividly explore the possibility of reincarnation, which, in my opinion, is possible, yet I am not certain about it personally. It is very interesting to ruminate (also a word which's usage I loved in this poem) on this, as it does reveal to you a lot about life and does open up your eyes immensely, regardless of the truth about reincarnating. Well done, and thank you for sharing! :)

Although I do not believe in reincarnation, I do believe in the continuation of life.
What I find fascinating is genetics. We are literally the sum of all the generations before us.

In your poem, you talk about walking down the path and recognizing faces of friends before.

I believe in a life before life; that we existed before in a spiritual realm where we all knew each other and we recognize each because we were friends there before we came to earth in the bodies we now have.

But that is much longer discussion. 😊
Interesting post.

Thanks for sharing your view, and I can definitely buy into that. I mean, if the Big Bang theory is correct, then at one point, we were all physically one thing and then split into trillions of particles - so it's plausible that our collective consciousness was present during that time.

That's another way to look at it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76