#This bitter fate

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)


Screen Shot 2018-05-12 at 6.28.06 PM.png
pic by pixabay


I woke up one morning, started getting ready for the day.
I looked out the window, the clouds were heavy and gray.
Pulled on my jacket, stepped outside of the house.
Never thinking or realizing that something was about to go down.
I got into my car, I got a call on my cell.
It was my baby girl, my love, my life, the one that made it all well.
I told her that I would only be a minute, that I'm my way there.
She sounded so happy, so excited, neither​ her nor I were ever aware.
Made it up a few blocks and turned right onto Cherry Street.
Unaware that this bitter fate I would soon meet.
I slowed to a stop at a glowing red light.
A black Sedan pulled up on my right.
Their windows rolled down, then gunshots rang out​.
I had no time to react, and less time to shout.
The Sedan sped off, disappeared into the early morning mist.
Slumped over in my car, thinking about my baby girl, whom dearly I would always miss.



"An intimate memorium for those youth that we lose over sensless violence. You are always in our hearts."




https://steem.global/?mref=mightymon6

Sort:  

This very much pulls on the heart strings. Losing loved one is the hardest thing to go through.

Thanks so much @stiggy, yes the loss of life is never easy, and what gets me the most is when I see it happen to our youth. We need to show our young how to love. They are our future in this ever hostile world. Thanks so much again sir.

Not a problem I enjoyed it and yes we need to show more love and kindness to the world and the youth!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67124.23
ETH 3753.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56