I Was Told That I Can't

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

IMG_E3038[1].JPG

When I was Seven,

I was told that I can't,
For I am wearing a dress and berries scent
'Girls shouldn't be doing anything! they rant,
They asked me to go home and tend some plants.

When I was Eleven,

I stopped raising my hand,
But one day my teacher asked me a question that made me stand,
I answered indulgently—in a manner they can all understand,
Though I'm right, as always, a man's perspective was adamant.

When I was Sixteen,

Every time I eat I do the math,
Growing up the biggest insult was "You are fat"!
My heart is yelling inside for I know it's not right,
But I was told that a girl was designed to please men with all her might.

When I was Twenty two,

Fed up with all the crap—I dared to fly and soar,
Inside of me I know that I can do more,
I'm not just a girl who do household chores,
I am an equal of man deep inside my core.

And now that I am Twenty eight,

My existence as a woman shouldn't be valued less,
I have the strength to make a change nonetheless,
As a woman I can endure all the stress and mess,
Just like a queen who can defend his king with grace.

"I raise up my voice—not so I can shout, but so that those without a voice can be heard...we cannot succeed when half of us are held back." ―Malala Yousafzai



Have you voted your witness?
Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @acidyo, @jerrybanfield, @blocktrades, @cloh76.witness, @resteemble, @ausbitbank, and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.
To cast your votes, just go to
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


Sort:  

This really warms my heart. Encourages me to be better. Muchas Gracias!

you said it well.... ;) i always believe that whatever men can do, women can do it also...or maybe they can do it even more. :) keep it up!

awww anyway I don't think women are better. Equal is more than enough.

Very nice poem. :) It's so true. Women are the strongest and bravest people. We shouldn't be valued less..

women supports women! thank you for having time to read.

Way to go @michellpiala! That is what every woman should think and do: we should all know our true worth.

and we shouldn't let anyone force us to think otherwise. Thank you @filnette, sending you love and hugs!

Yes definitely @michellpiala. In other words, Go Girl! :) love and hugs as well all the way from Manila :)

Every man, woman and child should know their true worth :D

That too @leeart. 😊 Sorry we just got a little carried away. 😊 It's the same for everyone yes.

Oh no, it's fine lol! No need to be sorry :D

Couldn't agree more. that's what we're actually trying to convey here. :)
Man have known theirs since the beginning of time. while Women are starting to be aware now. Hoooraah!

very well said dear @michellpiala....gender inequality is definitely to be frowned upon....thanks for being the voice to so many shunned and intimidated women

No @ossyjay, Thank you for having an open mind about this matter.

Raise your voice and let it be heard. Our opinion matters. However, we should practice that with caution. Some things are better left to be unsaid.

Right, some things. But there are tons of things that has to be said and heard, I hope women all over will take part until the time men are women are considered equal.
Thank you for having time to read @leeart

Yes. More and more voices are heard. Equality is subjective and covers a wide range of topic. It is only up to a certain point. There are things that only men can do and vice versa, practical and obvious things like physiologically. What we should put in mind is to respect and understand each other.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

We recommended this post here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts and to be recommended, reply with STOP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64479.05
ETH 3181.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57