BLACK CHILD; Africa's Tears.

in #poetry6 years ago

Africa crying.jpg

They came with gift of intimacy;
Seduced me with truce and trade.
For their greed, they recognised me.
The weapon of destruction was my present.

They came to love life around me;
Like a mother, I welcome them like my own.
Their desires, I knew not.

images (20).jpg

Thought we were from the same womb, Earth.
Then they tied me down with envy;
Passed a dagger through my back amidst my plea.
Raped me off my pride,
A branch of their lusty pleasure.

My garment of freedom they took off,
Caressing me with the shackles of slavery.
They ran my skin with mud of injustice, and;
They made themselves, judge of colours.

For a land was raped off its freedom; Colonialism.
Her resources unlawfully collected.
Her seeds condemned over the world.
Who will wipe off Africa’s tears?
Black Child!

Sort:  

Congratulations @michaelnonso! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @michaelnonso! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56608.36
ETH 2976.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15