"Our World as a Spider's"

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever stopped to consider the amazing enormity of what spiders accomplish when spinning their webs? Have you ever wondered what that experience would be like for the onlooker, if the spiders were the same size as we humans? Well, here is your first chance to imagine with your mind's eye what that might be like, TO SCALE.

Enjoy!

Our World as a Spider's

Imagine if a chore now, with satin,
were to weave a net over Manhattan,
That's a job for Araneus cavaticus,
the friendly barn spider out back'v us,
if you were her size and her world were yours...

That's an odd premise for a story,
yet maybe some nuggets we'll quarry,
if we listen real closely,
using mind's eye mostly,
we may understand the enormity of her chores.

Start near the top of Empire State Building,
look down on streets that the sunlight's gilding.
Feel how she feels as she awaits the plunge,
absorbing your fears, just as she-- like a sponge.
Studying her destination... so far she can't see it.

She begins on the seventy-sixth floor,
swinging out in the wind she will soar,
hundreds of feet down and thousands of feet out,
buffeted, twisted...not quite sure of her route.
To land at ninety miles per hour on rough grout.

Somehow she avoids being crushed as she rushes,
down one of the Queensborough Bridge trusses.
Ties off at the bottom her first anchor wire,
hand over hand she climbs two miles back and higher,
To the place where she started, to do it all over.

Catching her breath for a moment,
she ponders her next great bestowment.
To Columbus Circle she decides
must be the next path that she glides,
To tie off once more at the feet of the explorer.

When at last all her anchor wires are in place,
She must fill it all in with skill and grace.
Up and down and around the town,
A miracle of construction, renowned.
The greatest achievement in all the wide engineering world.

(At Amity, 12.17.16)

Sort:  

That is a seriously BRILLIANT piece of writing @mepatriot. Love it!

Thanks, Jaynie! I am so glad you like it. Doesn't seem like poets get much attention here (or anywhere for that matter...lol.)

Hey...my sister spells her name just like you do! Cool. Following....

hahaha Tell her Jayne says hi ;)

Actually, I have seen quite a bit of poetry getting decent attention on here... go and scout about for some of the poetry contests - start by searching the poetry tag... then you should find some of the contests. :)

Cool. Thanks for the advice. I will!

Only a pleasure :)

Well, you sure have made my day! To get at least a few pennies for a post is very encouraging to a minnow who gets mostly zeroes and "dust." LOL....Thanks again, and you have a great one too!

My pleasure, and as my mom always told me, look after the pennies and the pounds will look after themselves - same principal somewhat applies here on Steemit.

Your BEST avenue towards succeeding in the beginning is to engage with as many people as often as you can - but just make sure that your engagement is actually genuine.

Quality comments and genuine engagement is often very well rewarded and will help you to establish your blog a lot quicker :)

Look forward to seeing more of your content.

Pleasure to meet you :)

Your mom is a very wise lady.

Thanks for the advice. I am totally into genuine, for sure, and I understand exactly what you mean about quality comments and genuine engagement.

Can I push my luck and have you take a peak at this one? (Then I am done pestering you, I promise:)

https://steemit.com/poetry/@mepatriot/the-room-another-original-poem-by-mepatriot

@mepatriot - On behalf of the #steemitbloggers community, I would like you to know that I think your poetry is FANTASTIC! Keep it up!!! :)

Jaynie...you're the best!! Thanks. I usually have been posting one pre-written poem here per day, but I haven't actually written any poetry recently, because I wasn't finding any appreciation in my limited circle, and needed to do things that would actually pay. (FYI...my current circle doesn't contain any fellow poets, or even more than a couple writers of any kind...)

I'd like nothing better than to start writing some fresh poetry again. You're getting me inspired to do just that! Thanks again!!

#Steemitbloggers I'm not a fan of poetry but this was kind of intriguing. Well done. Keep it up. And keep on engaging. Have a great day ahead and an even brighter future.

Same to you, my friend! Thanks for the compliment. I know I am having some success as a poet, when I can intrigue even those with little or no interest in poetry.

That's an incredible skill set to possess I suppose. Eh?

Sure is. One of the great wonders of God's creation.

I'm not good with poem, but I'm sure being lure into reading how she climb!

Thanks, Rose! God bless.

You are welcome, blessing to you too!

Interesting poem, I really enjoyed reading that. I often marvel at the engineering and architectural works of the animal kingdom. We fancy ourselves as being so complex, but the structures built by some of the creatures we share the Earth with that were constructed using only intuition and practical working knowledge are incredibly humbling.

Very true, my friend. Thanks for your kind words and succinct observations!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63700.42
ETH 3084.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83