THE ORDEAL OF AN ORPHAN

in #poetry6 years ago

images-25.jpg

Saw her sitting by a dirty road side,
it was drizzling with no place to hide.
all raged up ,with a little girl curled up closely by her side. Traumatized by the effects of a prolonged war for which she, and many others like her must now suffer to the core.
With both parents killed in the war,it was not going to be easy for sure.
Left all alone in the cruel world to fend for self and sibling, it was indeed frustrating and hope incinerating .
At a time most her age are in school learning to better their lives,
there she was at the verge of being a sex slave.
Knowing she was at the mercy of a volatile and cruel society known for great notoriety,
she juxtaposed good attitude with fortitude and averted ending up a destitute cum prostitute .
Emotion took the best of me as i couldn't resist the urge to be of help any way possible.
Her situation was indeed very terrible and living condition was horrible,yet she saw live as viable.
Gaining her trust was a miracle
fearing I meant trouble,as the atmosphere was tense and full all manner of evil.
As we got talking,
i could see the deep trauma in her.
paranoid and unstable.
Eager and curious to know about her and her plight .
Her comportment and comment made my spirit take flight,as she narrated her family's ordeal in the senseless fight.
The fight for supremacy,ethnicity, nepotism and materialism.
Is there any glory in these senseless wars being fought ?
At just twelve ,she was quite intelligent and mature for her age,that one can only pray that life opens unto her a new and favourable page .
Gaining a bit of trust in me,
she eventually began to speak.
Mister, she said,our mum thought us never to speak to a stranger, else our lives could be in danger.
Quite sensible and reasonable.
I insisted with assuring smile on my face, urging her to be calm 'cause I meant for her no harm.
After what seemed like an assuring look into my eyes ,
she got talking while I attentively did the listening .
If I tell you my ordeal , she said, will you show mercy,or make of it mockery?
If I tell you my ordeal ,will you show apathy ,or sympathy?
Have you ever gone days without food,and surrounded with people who are of no good?
Have you ever been without shelter,and literarily feeding from the gutter?
Do you know how terrifying it is to watch one's patents like goats under slaughter?
Being an orphan,all I see is hate,
no one wants with me to relate.
I keep wondering why I must suffer such a cruel fate ?
Have you being deprived of parental love and care at such a tender age?
For no fault of ours my life and that of my sibling are unjustly put under draconic siege .
I dreamt of being a doctor so as to be of help to humanity,sadly, same is now militating cruelly against me and my dream.
Sir,she concluded with her tender voice up in rage like that of a wild beast locked in cage.
I want to be free from this societal cage.
Sir,help me realise my dream,she pleaded with passion.
I want to live my dream,
I want to be a doctor,then fell on her knees with tears dripping down her chicks .
An epitome of excellence and resilience she is, now living her dream.
A renowned Physician, philanthropist and Motivational speaker.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62