Sorely Missing That Which I Don't (Original Poem)

in #poetry8 years ago

As I reminisce about the past,
How life was simple then,
No worries, thoughts or sleepless nights,
But would I go through it all again?

I miss the naivety, the simplicity,
A bouncy ball was enough to please,
The carefree days playing "It" - long gone,
Returning home with scabby knees.

Skipping school, the swimming pool,
Do you remember the arcade?
Blowing every penny on Donkey Kong,
Doing a few chores to be paid.

Summer days chasing butterflies,
How funny we surely were,
Watching cartoons 'til our eyes were red,
Those days are now a blur.

Do you remember this?
"God yes! And do you remember that?"
Oh yeah! And how about that science teacher?
"D'ya think he still wears that silly hat?"

I wonder what the old chums are doing,
Do they all ruminate like me?
Do you think they're sad or happy?
Now bald on baby number three?

These days I'm always sleepy, so tired,
Who knew adulthood would be like this?
Little me imagined something else,
More freedom, cash and bliss?

But if you possessed the power,
Could change my life for me,
Would I be a kid again?
I'd rather nail my testes to a tree.

For a life without sex or wine?
Surely it'd be misery, torture - hell.
And no caffeine, beer or internet?
I bid childhood a fond farewell.

Sort:  

Haha! Great ending! Loved your poem! 😄😉

Love this poem, great job!

Congratulations @mattyboolamb! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49