I Speak Not Of (an original poem)

in #poetry7 years ago

I speak not of the two who broke

My mind and heart

On those words I choke

I cannot bring myself to say

My little girls

Weren't here to stay

Reminders greet me every day

The two who live

Wake up and say

Good morning Dad, how did you sleep

I dare not speak

Of how I weep

Time has passed but til my death

I will remember

Your last breath

I limp along a broken man

My dream shattered

As well as my plan

I think not on this every day

I have a lot

Of positive things to say

But it sometimes hits me like a train

I stumble through

Despite the pain

I usually don't post when I feel this way

The reason you don't see me

Every day

I try and try to make me better

But then I slip

My face gets wetter

My economics suffer too

Mostly I barely

Make it through

Writing this has been cathartic

Easing slightly

My terrible heartache

Sort:  

Really good. Somehow, it make me think of the French poet Francis Ponge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60