Poetry vs Rap ( An Original Rapoem By @Masonmiler )

in #poetry8 years ago

Play This Track and Enjoy The RaPoem.


Poetry vs Rap

People look before they listen,

So maybe If my ears Glisten 

People will hear what I have to say, 

Because i wanna talk about the way

Rappers get claps,

While poets get snap

Rappers get paid while poets get scrap,

So you mean If I turn all my problems to rap

Some words just put em to a beat,

make up some silly way to move your feet

I'll be set, I bet 

If  i had a picture of me half naked soaking wet

I'd get more attention,

Because did I mention 

People look Before they listen 

They judge books by Cover art 

Before they even start 

To think about reading

If that's the case maybe this poem isn't

Worth Completing,

Or maybe my attitudes too self-defeating 

And instead of retreating. 

We should prepare for Battle

Round Up all poets like we're some cattle,

And bring everything we've got

Just because a rapper's hot

Doesn't mean they can take a poet who continues

Writing knowing they won't reach the top

But let me stop. Before i get caught -

Up In us versus them 

Because I don't mean to condemn 

Just want people to see that they're words and our equate, 

Because wouldn't it be great If a rap had 

A poem at the end 

And Instead of always fighting

Rappers and poets were friends

I wish it was real but right now It's pretend, 

Because all rappers and poets can do is contend 

But here's what I can't comprehend 

Both rappers and poets express their hearts 

Words with a pen

And write on the paper all things held within

I'ts such a long feud but where to begin

Here's what i recommend

Instead of always fighting, let's just make 

Amends.

_____________________________________________________________________

Image credits - 1  2

Song Credit  - source

Follow me - @masonmiler

Sort:  

Wonderful idea and it touches on a very real and interesting topic: that art in one medium is shunned while in others it shines.

Well done, the Collective Mind respects it.

I really enjoyed this. You have nailed the Rapoem. Nice work!

Thanks for sharing @masonmiler

Interesting work. I've always believed rap is improvised poetry and I've been writing it the same way. The major difference boils down to the way it is vocally expressed, with/without a beat. Therefore, rap comprises of both the writing and reciting skill where mathematics plays a very important role, whereas poetry in my opinion is the same with lesser influence of math and the "beat".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43