The Great Dream 🇺🇸

in #poetry7 years ago

The GREAT dream

Martin Luther King had a dream.
But not all dreams are what they seem.
I mean, it seems we're living the American dream.
Why they still treat us like slaves and its 2016.
We went from hanging from trees to dying in cells.
From Family first, to killing ourselves

If you from where I'm from you're a goner
There's a liquor store on every corner
Guns with no owner
Drugs that require planes and boats. (But Wait)
we're no owners.
So, who went and got it?
Label us violent, But we are a product of our environment

Surly this is not the dream Martin Luther King seen.
Everytime I turn on my TV I see Death, another black teen
I guess the police is policing
Kill a negro, he's a hero on paid leave vacationing.

Let's Forget if he's black, forget if he's a Criminal .
No man should be judge on the streets that's pitiful.
so sinster and so blue
I just pray that oneday the dream come true.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78