You’d Wish. A Poem of Falling Stars and Egotism

in #poetry5 years ago (edited)


Falling Star by Witold Pruszkowski (1884) - Image in the Public Domain (Wikimedia Commons)

You'd Wish

                                       We’re gazing at the stars bright
                                       countless bonfires burning high
                                       of fire white and gorgeous night,
                                       magical sight to wanting eyes.

                                       We stare and wait as one may break.
                                       The sky may drop it like a tear
                                       to grant this wish we’re quick to make
                                       as if to them we were so dear.

Thanks for reading poems.


Soy miembro de @talentclub.


Imagen diseñada por @wilins

Sort:  

I really liked the rhythm of this piece, and I loved how the formatting made me think about two lovers who are apart, awaiting a force which unites them.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @moeknows. I worry a lot about rhythm, so your comment makes me really happy. Thanks for the visit :D

That's great to hear. Your poem was a real pleasure to read. I look forward to reading more in the future.

Posted using Partiko Android

You're too kind, @moeknows. I am checking some cool poems of yours and joined your Discord Server (yesterday). I am trying to keep up after 4 days with no electricity...

We poets have to stick together and support each other. Did I read that you were from Venezuela?

Posted using Partiko Android

Born and raised, sir. Cumaná is my hometown (first city ever built in the continent; and sadly not much has been done ever since).

That's cool. I love how the internet can bridge the gap between oceans and countries. I'd love to speak with you some time about the current situation over there. It is seldom that one has the opportunity to get first hand accounts of situations reported on by the news.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sure. Anytime. You must know I don't support Maduro’s Regime. And, certainly, I always like to listen to what others think about our situation. Thanks for your interest, @moeknows :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95