A Country Child's Day - Steemit Slam #2 -

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Children amuse me because when they are excited, they tell the most fascinating tales as quickly as possible and it ends suddenly and logically.

This bit of whimsy, is best read as fast as possible. Take a slight breath whenever you run short on air. Except, before reading the concluding "And then," take a deep breath and let the last phrase out in a big sigh.

There is, of course, a back story. ... I'll write that eventually

The Steemit Slam #2 is hosted by @poetrytrail


Whiner on the watch!

A Country Child's Day

One cat explores through a creek
intriguing boys

While two girls gather splendid chickens
in the garden

And dogs trail on hills
three amusing children

Then kids collect astonishing goats
from four fields

But five rabbits examine across the pond
delightful lasses

Soon six lads find fascinating birds
beside the river

And then,
We all come home to rest and roost.


Journeys watching over Patch after an exhausting puppy photo shoot.

PS. I asked my daughter, who is mothering my 2 yr old granddaughter, how well the piece held up as a piece of whimsy. She said ...

It's better than some children's books I've read lately!

So. I'm going with it and I'm happy ... and so very amused.

And now the back story is up: How My Morning Routine Plan Became Intriguing and Spawned a Whimsical Poem (Life with ADD Episode 3)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58416.09
ETH 2514.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34