Worthwhile Tears (An Original Poem)

in #poetry8 years ago


xXimage sourceXx

Anticipation kills me,
Waiting tears me apart.
Fear wraps its icy fingers
Around my frightened heart.

The days turn into weeks,
And the weeks stretch out so far,
Everyday without you
Leaves an ugly scar.

Wounds are left open,
Bleeding, painful, raw,
Each day without you
Hurts a little more.

I know you'd be home if you could,
And I know this hurts you too,
This senseless war & it's senseless deaths,
Will leave their mark on you.

But as surely as it leaves its mark,
It takes something from me too,
It feeds on my fear & terror
Of being away from you.

I hope each day, I pray each night,
And then I hope a little more,
That God will bring you safely
To the stoop of my front door.

My prayers will all be answered,
Our love is worth the strain,
I'll hold you someday baby,
These tears won't be in vain.



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58949.08
ETH 2306.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47