One precious single thread

in #poetry7 years ago

Sometimes life brings us beautiful gifts 

Then seemingly tears them away  

Before we can weave them into the fabric of our life. 

But they are there nonetheless, 

Perhaps only a single thread, 

That we wish was more. 

Yet each single thread is crucial 

To the overall picture that life paints.  

And so you appeared, 

Untainted and untouched. 

You caressed the wounds of my soul, 

And I wished you to be a healing balm.  

And then you disappeared, 

Silently, wordlessly, 

Tip toeing from my life, 

A quiet reverie, a sanctuary lost.  

The adult in me knows you had your reasons, 

And those, to me will now remain unknown. 

You highlighted a wound you didn’t make, 

Oh how I longed for you to heal it. 

To hold me, stroke my hair, gather all of me, 

Every fragment, every shard that ever has been chipped away 

But it is not your place  

To hug my pieces back together.  

Now you are gone. 

Perhaps to find the shards 

Which you have lost 

That I do not know how to re-cement.  

And I am here. 

Saddened by the loss  

Of a friendship I had hoped to have 

A longed for picture 

That lingers as one precious single thread.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62613.64
ETH 2438.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67