You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Sleepless Dream" - Poems, 004

in #poetry6 years ago

Thank you for such a candid response, and for sharing what was obviously a beautiful, personal moment in your life with me.

As always, what I say next will seem like I'm trying to wash out the colour and magic, lol, but just hear me out.

First, I'm curious: Why Christianity? I know many, many people who believe in some higher power but it takes a lot more belief in crazy things to go all the way to messiahs and ressurrections, and especially Christianity's main thing: being born guilty.

The timing of things is something that convinces many people (including me when I was younger) ... But the explanation is like this: Incredible coincidences happen all the time. It's crazy but statistically, right now, 1000 people just experiences an incredible coincidence in their lives. Let's say it happens every second. Or every 30 seconds, on average.

This, combined with how we humans love to think the world revolves around us (we are all the main characters in a book with our name as the Title, like David Copperfield ;P) ... So when things things happen, we naturally are prone to think that it means something ... That there is something behind it. Despite no evidence to back it up, we take it as proof of what we already believe.

And that is my next point: Confirmation Bias. I'll do a post about it at some time... Basically, we are prone to easily notice and accept information that helps back up what we already believe. And just as easily, we tend to ignore(not on purpose... we just don't notice) information that might negate our beliefs.

To me, these moments are still magical! Even though they aren't caused by any higher power... Or actually, especially because they aren't. They are rare moments that, sure, happen to everybody, but that one moment in MY life was MY moment and means something to me. It's unique in that way, and is valuable.

The frustration with science is inevitable, I think, but it's all we've got. And better it than just jumping to conclusions with beliefs that we personally like.

Again, thank you for the interaction... This is one of my favourite things to talk about =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53406.14
ETH 2398.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15