Man Down

in #poetry7 years ago

Screen Shot 2017-07-29 at 7.30.44 PM.png

This war has torn at us in ways not yet seen
I write from afar
From the deep end of my heart
Miles away from you
This battle has taken its toll in blood and time
These scars grow hard
Hardened days turn into a barricade
Shrapnel dreams pierce the flesh
But whom are we fighting
Whose blood poisons us
I see you in my mind in the last moment we shared air
The gravity heavy as I stepped away
Did you hear the bombs and gun fire too
The screams and whispers
I never would leave
Never
This war claims innocents one Purple Heart at a time
If you can hear me in the night
See me in that last moment
Then I ask
Reach for me through the battle
Away from the torment and the dismembered
Meet me in the neutral zone, my Darling
My Everything
The days fall fast now
Like little dreams in a sweet past somewhere
Landmines eat them in the fury of annihilation
Holes in the land where once we walked
I’m waiting for my man down
For you to come back and share the air with me
The free and the brave
The wounded
Drop your guns
And return-

Sort:  

There's just something intoxicating about your writing.... love it... "I write from afar From the deep end of my heart" Superb!! <3

<3 It's reciprocal. You are a truly gifted writer.

Thank you so much... it means a lot to have other writers that I respect say such lovely words, in a way that is a silver lining as we write to write and then when our peers "get it" it's like a homerun.

Yeah, it does mean a lot when another writer "gets it"! Enjoy the rest of your day!

In the neutral zone magic is stirred and created....
Lovely....

Your words and the way you have put it together to portray the deep tragedies and victims of war nearly made me cry.

Great one @mamadini - so powerful and moving, as always :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
SBD 2.27