Last words for Mr. Willie the yard rooster

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Willie2.jpg

Sticky dicky, dickity do
do you lick or flick
or turn icky sickly poo

Poor willie found his
demise at the edge
of dusk, grabbed
by a coon, eaten
and found at noon

Sort:  

R.i.p. sir, you were a cock among pussies.

lol.... you know he was the cock-about. Poor thing.

OMG, I found that so funny.

this is like Dr. Suess and Edgar Allen Poe wrote a eulogy nursery rhyme. I enjoy the musicality of the internal rhyme, a tongue twisting tragic tale.

hehe, thank you. You know I get all crazy with the word play -- I like finding my own tongue, like chanting or channeling but not.

Aww, too bad about Willie. We had a chicken as a pet for a few weeks. It's name was Dude. It was still a baby, so we weren't sure if it was male or female. It was fun freaking people out by telling them that I had a chick named Dude living in my house.

haha, love that as a name.

Yeah, my four year old boy came up with it. LOL.

Poor old Wllie.

This happened a couple months back -- he was a great rooster. <#

Awww, a chicken getting along with cats and getting eaten. That's too bad :(

Mr. Willie has quite a Lazarus story actually, but that is for another day. He is missed.

So, I think originalworks only works if the post is over 200 words. I figured that out recently.

Thank you, Moe. I was wondering what was up with it being finicky. lol

What would I do without you? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59398.61
ETH 2510.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43