From my eyes (Steemit Slam -- word prompt "leaving". )

in #poetry7 years ago

leaving .jpg

Sometimes I want to lie down in a field
and let the grass grow over my weary days,
to wake in another time;
entangled tree roots and crocus bulbs.
To let you all go as I close my eyes,
that I may dream everything is as I see it,
not this dark churning in my gut,
or the tears that rained all these days
on my walk to the park
where I shall leave a lash for a memory.

My hands will reach to the worms,
the embrace I so needed all these days,
the marriage true.
Sing me to sleep dark night,
All I've ever known, all I have.
The birds lie, feathers and fluff,
but I wanted to hear them so
sweet in the morning,
so soft in my ear
as the sun blinded me
from seeing the way.

Heavy clipped and fumbled,
goddamn,
I try to look into the sun;
it's not my place to burn like that.
The fern will grow from my eyes,
moss from my heart.
I'll lie in the grass and sink.
You will feel the cool breeze
when you walk by,
and when I wake,
I'll see your flowers.

Sort:  

Love it. Thanks. For. Sharing. 😀 Hope you will be sharing more.

Oh my, thank you kindly. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63179.13
ETH 2573.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72