Extra Credit

in #poetry7 years ago

sul1.jpg

“Where you goin’, hooker?
That ain’t your road. Didn’t you read the syllabus?
Don’t get emotional or you’ll lose your soul.
You can give ‘em it good and they’ll pay
then say you owe them and take it out on you again.
Watch your step down here, this course is rough.
Look at the other girls.
See all them soulless ones?
Hollowed holes.
They let ‘em take it and run.
Remember, this ain’t your home.
They gonna take what they can
because they know you leavin’.
Keep your nose to the book when the pain comes.
Finals are comin’
and you gotta pass or take this shit again.
The longer you in the game
the more chance you have to lose
what can’t be gotten back.
Somebody gonna love you somewhere,
don’t look for it here.
They come and go; they just lookin’ to kill they pain,
to give it to you.
Learn on these streets.
Call this home and you’ll fail.
They say you uppity, them regulars.
I tried to tell ‘em that you just doin’ this for extra credit.
They try to kill what they can’t have.
Watch yourself.
You starvin’.
I see it, so do they.
It’s almost over, hooker.
Pass or Fail.”

Sort:  

I like it. It is very very deep.

<3 The lines between the lines.

I saw the eyes of the man saying these words to her.... LOVED!

I really love this piece... sometimes when I write I like to do it like a script for some reason -- it allows me to find other voices that are me, yet, not me.. or me as a crazy lady (giggles). <3

Let's be crazy ladies from solstice to solstice!

SO much YESSS!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60313.79
ETH 2889.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47