Poetry Dice Challenge 1: Retirement Planning on Starving Artist Income

in #poetry8 years ago


Before reading the rules of @robyneggs' new Poetry Dice Challenge, I was not aware that those dice with the little pictures on them instead of dots or numbers were designed for poetry. After meditating on the designated sequence of glyphs, I hammered out the strange bit of verse below, and sort of like the way it made my thinking feel. Hope you have as much fun with it as I did!


Retirement Planning on Starving Artist Income

A solitary bulb, unshielded, fills the small room with yellow light.

Is this creative squalor my golden parachute?

Maybe not. But it's what I've got against a future best eyed warily.

And it's warmer in the winter than the tipi was though it cost me the loss of the stars.

Will time balance the scales and return the sky in my lifetime?

Do beads on some archaic abacus click together when our fates are unsealed?

Are divine dice Planck-scale flipping-pennies?

Maybe so. But of course they grow into god-footprint-shaped galaxies.


(The picture at the top of the page is of an original oil painting)

Sort:  

Oh my gosh - that is a great poem! :-D So glad you enjoyed them as much as I did! It is good to challenge the brain in different ways. These dice are actually called story dice, but they can be used to different ends, as you can see. They are wonderful to write with, when no ideas are otherwise at hand. ;-) I thought they would make a great poetry challenge. Thank you so much - you honor me with the first entry to the Poetry Dice contest! :-) CHEERS @mada! Luck!

Thanks - I am happy to contribute to this innovative contest: )

Amazing work.
Very impressive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33