THE STORY…

in #poetry7 years ago

Core-story.jpg

THE STORY...

Past down through generations
from ancestors we never knew
connecting us to a past
not all completely true

Used to discuss
the news of the day
relive heartfelt memories
the emotions they conveyed

Transcending the world
we wake to each day
broaden our perspective
making gold out of hay

Children beg for more
each night before bed
while visions of sugarplums
dance in their head

Besides such tradition
they unite us as all
rising over boarders
more powerful than a wall

Many known worldwide
and those of our own
embed us with morals
and a seat at the thrown

Some start with the words
"Once upon a time…"
spark our imagination
comfort and rhyme

The good ones entertain
mingle with the soul
deliver far off lands
help us feel whole

Imparting their wisdom
the lessons they hold
demanding a crowd
by the way they are told

Much more than just words
or another allegory
they enhance our lives
what is.., the story!


Image Source: 1

Sort:  

very nice ,,,

Appreciate it!

Ah the nostalgia. I don't think many children now knows of the joys of such stories. Didn't get read to as a kid but I sure did read myself to sleep with such books :) awesome poem

Thanks @unspeakableme... Nothing like falling asleep to a good story!

I love this. It's such a beautiful way of putting it. 😇

great to read your writings again....I need to see your posts more often! I must be following too many people so I don't see you in my feed. I'll remember to check.

Lovely poetry👌👌

Get that ata kah nyan key sep galak kuh
Bak na jie peu marcon Lom
Pu jeut kucok foto kah keu key

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05