SHE IS…

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

she is

SHE IS…

Born to disfunction
never knowing her worth
watching and waiting
and not knowing why…

Starving for attention
obliging their whims,
reaching for guidance
but lost in the dark.

Trying to thrive
learning to grow,
talking to fairies
was all she would know.

She hid from the bluster
hurting her so --
cried in the shadows
her soul undertow.

Trying her best
to meet their demands,
walking on eggshells
while stuck in their hands.

Always so charming
being put on display,
suffering in silence
waiting for that day.

Just hoping to survive
she bore all the pain,
a child of neglect
left out in the rain.

Being their daughter
was never enough,
being raised by fools
why was it so tough.

Misunderstanding her gift
her feelings brushed aside,
unwilling to notice --
always being so snide.

Belonging to herself
she prayed to the stars,
wishing for parents
that could see who she was.

Remarkable by nature
possessing so much light,
blossoming for hedgehogs
ignoring her plight.

Creating a life --
surpassing the blind,
she grew for the world
and left them behind.

Learning to fly
she did on her own,
knowing in her heart
she'd need a new start.

Relinquishing her guilt
purging her soul --
rising from the ashes
always in control.

Never realizing once
what they had done,
the child they had damaged
the love that they stole.

A gift from the heavens
belonging to the world
a beautiful spirit --
...and a delicate soul.


post script: I was inspired to write this poem after a reading a post by a woman I've grown very fond of.., and have immense respect for -- our very own @fairytalelife. Her post was one of strength, courage and bravery. https://steemit.com/holiday/@fairytalelife/a-delicate-soul

I hope she likes it…


Image Source: 1

Sort:  

@macksby! What did you do? Everything you said. I am stunned beyond words. And touched. And moved. And crying! Thank you, my dear friend. I don't know what to say. You are a gem. xo

Nice! Someone should make a rap song about this.

Make it happen @pjo -- CHEERS!

Only if I could.. I'll have this idea in mind, but I don't think I will.

Thanks @ericvancewalton -- I appreciate it!

.....wow. Bravo, Mack.

This is a wonderful way to honor her. Nice work!

Such an amazing woman... Thanks @donkeypong!

I read that post this morning! Half way through reading your poem I scrolled back up to see if you were the same author. Incredible work. Beautiful tribute to the amazing @fairytalelife

Thanks @girlbeforemirror... Yes, she is amazing!

The style of that drawing, as well as others in the artists' blog, is very calming in my opinion. They're going somewhere. As is your poetry!

Thanks @art-vandelay... I agree.
You're an architect, right..? :))

Or was it -- importer / exporter...

I think it was both? Damn. Better watch it again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55