Casualties Of War...

in #poetry7 years ago

pljtkt3cwlmhkfpikelo.jpg

Casualties Of War...

Condemned to live with demons
that exist inside your mind
reliving all the horror
you thought you left behind

surviving all the darkness
that now lives on inside
searching for some answers
contemplating suicide

trying to unravel
the nightmares in your head
haunted by smell
the cries of all the dead

long after all the battles
the scars that still remain
wounds that never heal
become your ball and chain

controlling every memory
alive in every thought
tormenting countless souls
the many that had fought

the things that they have seen
change them at our core
fall silent on the tongue
what was it really for

our conscious as whole
screams out in silent pain
while memories of the violence
are destined to remain

there is no macho victory
when so many have to die
especially when think
it was all a blatant lie

how quickly the unthinkable
can manifest itself
when following the orders
of those that serve themselves

the missing limbs
and damaged brains
the violence that they saw
just to be considered
…casualties of war.


Image Source: 1

Sort:  

NO WAR, STEEM AND LOVE))

Sounds like a plan to me...

Beautiful Poem! Thank you for sharing. Hopefully a day will come when we will have a world without Warheads. Then time, efforts and Money can be spent to eradicate poverty and hunger!

We can always hope... Thanks for the thoughtful comment @bluesky5555

Spread love not war :)

How nice would that be... :))

Great post thank's for share it with us

@macksby, this is a beautiful poem. It stirs emotion and concern in me. As a musician, I feel the need to pay respects to both your poem and the topic. I have composed a piece of music inspired by your wonderful words. I hope you enjoy it. You can also view this piece on my blog.

WOW. That was beautiful @buckydurddle!!!
Im a little speechless.., but I will say -- I am completely honored. I could feel the depth of the tragic situation many battle on a daily basis, with each heartfelt note. Thank you so much, for such a wonderful tribute to the men and women who continue to suffer long after their return.

Thank you so much @macksby. I am touched by your kind words. I am very happy that my music pays the proper respects. Thank you.

THIS POST RECEIVED AN UPVOTE & COMMENT FROM mahbubalam. IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO RECEIVE UPVOTES COMMENT FROM @mahbubalam ON ALL YOUR POST,
SIMPLY FOLLOW @mahbubalam

Thanks brp!

Great post thank's for share it with us , I have followed you !

More good work always comes with beautiful results @bakabou159704

Thank you.., appreciate it.

Casualties Of War deserve paradise because they are self-sacrificing
That is a beautiful meditation! I love the suggestion to record the affirmations because I was wondering. How I could remember to say all of that thank's bro

They definitely have a lot to deal with, when they come home... Cheers!

A wonderful poetry about war! Congratulations!

Appreciate it.., Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80