A Widow's Song (An Original Poetry)

in #poetry6 years ago

Image Source


Forgive me

This might take so much of your time

But I need you to hear the chaotic melody

Wrapped beneath these quiet, monotonous rhymes


Since you left

I've been hearing your voice

It may be all in my head

But it's there, clear despite the noise.


And it sends my heart racing fast

Just like the day I met you

This is too much to ask

But I'd like to spend another day with you.


Are you watching over me?

Are you sitting among the stars?

I know it's where you belong

But don't you think it's too far?


I'd give anything

For another touch of your hand

For the chance to smell your skin

For another subtle glance...


It may take some time before

I could finally accept that you're gone

And that you won't show up on my door

Even if I cried as hard as I can...


But please, don't ever forget me

Because you will be in every song I'll ever sing

In every tears, in every laughter

In everything, everything, this life will ever bring


But until then I'd be lost

Because the world is unfair

Remember that I've loved you the most

And I can't wait to see you up there...




Thank you for reading!


❤❤❤



Sort:  

What a beautiful, heartbreaking poem. I feel your words so deeply; you see, my husband @briancourteau is currently terminal with cancer, and this is how I feel.

I'd give anything
For another touch of your hand
For the chance to smell your skin
For another subtle glance...

...if only!

Because the world is unfair

I find myself thinking that often. It is truly unfair, and I don't know if this poem is written from your personal experience, but if it is, my heart aches for you.

Thank you.

Hello @lynncoyle1! I'm so sorry about your husband. My boyfriend died five years ago, he was only 17. I know you're a strong woman and your husband is very lucky to have you as his support. Never lose hope! Miracles happen everyday. Both of you will be on my prayers.

I am so so sorry to hear this; I was really hoping and praying for a different response from you. Your boyfriend was so young...that makes it seem so much worse too. What a horrible thing for you to have gone through as well, at such a tender age. My heart is very sad for you, but I truly hope that time has eased your pain somewhat, or at the very least, made it manageable.

Thank you so much for your kind words, and I do remain hopeful, but also realistic, and therefore we try to live every day like it's his last. I think everyone should live like that, regardless of their health.

Take care, and thank you for sharing such an intimate poem with me. I will keep in touch here with you for sure. Thank you for your prayers.

I agree. I've lived for so long with regrets. I had a lot of things I wanted to say and I know I wasted a lot of time when he was still with me. And that was the most difficult part. A part of me still misses him but I had to let go eventually. Because there was nothing else to do.

I sincerely wish you all the best. You are very brave and I truly admire you. Please if you need to talk you can reach me here.

Yes, of course you had to let go and live your life! And I'm glad you did, or else your life would be wasted...which would be a second tragedy.

I had a lot of things I wanted to say and I know I wasted a lot of time when he was still with me.

Well what do we really know at 17? With age, often comes wisdom, and also the ability to have 20/20 vision to review our past. So it's unfair to be hard on ourselves in the present or future because of it. You seem like you have a good heart, so I can only then assume that you did your best with the knowledge that you had. That should be good enough for anyone!

Thank you for your kind words and thank you for your offer...I may one day need to take you up on it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64071.08
ETH 2763.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66