Poetry Slam Challenge #3 Bridge Trolls Go Home

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)


.


Lackluster performances     of freedom searchers finding their power
Under the bridge                 framing a roof of our home
Never gets old, we can go         on all night, bonfire glow
Not letting go         except for the sun, unless it's cold
Evening always comes         ready again with makeshift drums
Throwing down and telling it     like it is, or was long ago
This is the life we know     but don't dawdle too much on
Insecurity, weakness, addictions.     a wrong look or one too long: no mention. JUST THIS
Killing it in the dark, like we're stronger than that stew, go on with life keep it on the move.


.
JAY

So this worked out so funny. I found and read the new poetry slam challenge post(missed the last ones, when I'd see people post for it I couldn't find the original post or rules so I gave up, yay for finding the poetryslamchallenge key words this time!) last night before bed, went to try to sleep and of course kept thinking about it working a few lines out wondering if I would remember them in the morning.
Woke up from a dream where I was living in some crazy new building and for some reason kept running into Anthony Kiedis, and I would keep trying to tell him how awesome that was every time, without being too creepy girlie, haha.
WTF. Yup that UNDER THE BRIDGE line stuck through my sleep, my self conscience got the song stuck in her head.

Then I go eat breakfast, and actually type out and rewrite the poem as best I can, log in to WOW to take a break
and come across a scene
at the bridge
in Stormwind.
There's a keg and a few people drinking, then a couple go to the edge ready to jump /saying good bye cruel world etc.
They land in the water and are waiting to drown, so I hop down and use my path of frost to start dancing on the water they're under.
Then their priest friend comes down too, levitating and sets up a campfire. We hold a vigil and drink more.

It's so entirely random and ironic at the same time, hahaha! But I guess it's a sign that yeah, maybe just maybe I wrote about the right topic. Cuz I figured I would try a couple of different ones then pick my fave out of them. Nah, this should do for it. I may keep trying to edit it a bit, but that's it.
It seems the law of three has spoken, and I can't deny that. Whenever I see something happen in threes, the same thing over over and over again, then I'll take it as a sign that it's meant to be. Did you know Tesla did things in 3 and used that number a lot too? I think there has to be more to it than an OCD type thing, it happens too much to everybody in the world through history. A lot of religions have it show up too, entirely unrelated ways. There's got to be something more to it.
Thanks for reading if you made it this far!
Pictures are from my fave park around Dallas, the poetry quotes all over their stairs has always been one of the things I've loved most, and it seemed fitting for the post.
And good luck to all the contest posters, I love reading all the poetry on here so much! Everybody should give it a whirl and try too. Getting juices flowing can make you feel so much better. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59263.92
ETH 2580.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46