My Lonely Ashtray / Poem

in #poetry7 years ago

My Lonely Ashtray

my lonely ashtray,
untouched by the foulness of cigarettes,
weeps not,
for this period of cleansing evokes clarity;
a transparence.

full of destructive filters
is how i last remember it being,
but now, all that lies amid its glass walls
is a lonely roach.

IMG_0848.jpg


If you enjoyed this poem and are interested in reading more, consider checking out my blog at @lukakorba and following me for brand new poetry and art daily!


With love,
Luka.

Sort:  

'for this period of cleansing evokes clarity...' - I love this line! And I can relate, being an ex-rollie smoker myself. :) I really like your poem 'An Apparent Ghost' too. Followed!

Thank you so much! I quit that habit a while back now, and reflecting on it and the destructive nature of it I was so blinded to is therapeutic and poetic. Thank you :)

hahaha...even an ashtray has it's place in steemit...hope youre ashtray wouldnt steal any contents from anyone and would not use any bots.

Haha it definitely won't! thank you for the read :)

I dig it, nice way of expressing the lifelessness of cigarettes especially after they've been smoked out of existence ☺️

Thank you, witnessing a dead cancer-stick is poetic. :)

Congratulations @lukakorba! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Made me smile! Rollie smoker here too :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58091.16
ETH 2357.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44