AWAYS REMEMBERED ( a tribute to my father)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

1F1A7BF1-307C-4732-8902-B2BC13F1EB29.jpeg

THE GAME OF GOLF

The game of golf will screw up your mind.
Take your money and kick your behind.
Send you home with empty pockets and
you’re arms out of sockets.
Over hill and over dale.
Here the golfers mournful wail.
Oh shit my balls in high grass!
Someone kick me in the ass!
The golf gods have it in for me!
My ball is nestled in this tree!

First you hook and then you slice.
Then you hit one really nice.
In the trees then in the brook.
How many penalties have you took.
A frustrating game that kicks your ass.
Drop a twenty foot putt and the pain will pass.

When all is said and done and golfing days are gone.
You will ponder over all the balls you lost and the matches you’ve won.

Next year I’ll take my third wife.
But the game of golf has me hooked for life.

RICHARD HARVEY PARKER ( Juan T Parker illustrator)

Sort:  

Beautifully written. Thanks for sharing.

My pleasure and my father’s.

Thanks l laugh every time l read it.

Love to read it...

Thank you. I continue to put together more of his stories for the book he wanted to publish.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80