The Voice In My Head ¬ Poetry

in #poetry7 years ago

buildings-2569494_640.jpg

Stand it said, gentle and soft
Like the voice of a familiar loved one
I obeyed

Move it said, nudging me gently forward
Towards a path I already thought to take but had been too scared to
I obeyed

Climb it said, leading me on
I had seen myself in this place, but only in my dreams
I obeyed

Jump it said as I looked down the ledge
Fear visited for a moment and doubt showed its face
I hesitated

It's okay it said, it's better this way
I believed it, that voice than understood my thoughts better than me
So I obeyed

Sort:  

You've received a FULL upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...

Click the Image to Join Our Discord Server:

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lordmok from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

No! Don't do it! Never listen to The Voice, it never ends well.

Nice writeup. You captured the mood with little use of words.

Never listen to that little demon inside your head. Its evil. I've been there bro - two suicide attempts myself. Never give in. We've got your back - if you ever need to talk, I'm here <3

Thank you so much for this, it's great to know there's always someone there

Oh, my LORD child ... Don't. You. Dare.

Wow powerful, that sent a chill down me. But I'm damn glad you got it down in words and didn't obey. Excellent poem, my friend. #theunmentionables

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64097.37
ETH 3476.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53