MY OLD AND FOOLISH WAYS

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

I am plagued by burdens from my past

I wonder how different my life would have been with her

Surely she was smarter than me

It both annoyed and attracted me

She had her way of being so beautiful even when pissing you off

I think that was enough for me at first

The sex drive we had was crazy, and we had the best conversations after

She read way too many books and seemed to know a little about everything

She also had to plan for everything

At first she complimented my free spirit lifestyle

But over time i went from being cute and free, to being irresponsible

Her boss also had a crush on her, but she just couldn’t see it

She called me the jealous boyfriend, and maybe I was

For a while she was all I needed

She had intoxicated me with her beauty and charm

She glowed like the sun in my eyes and so I couldn’t see her flaws

But time worked it’s magic and she wasn’t my perfect girl anymore

She became the nagging control freak who entertained her inappropriate boss

I was foolish in the end I must confess

She should never have caught me pants down with another

But at the time I did not care

The love I felt had been blinded

But my heart remembers and reminds me even now

Of MY OLD AND FOOLISH WAYS


iMAGE used courtesy of pixabay.com. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Wow, that is an emotion filled poem. It was quite easy to feel what you were feeling. Sometimes we look back and wonder what life would have been like if we had chosen another path. I am thankful for the path I am on today. Had I made other decisions, I don't think I would be the mom or person I am today. Thanks for the poem. #theunmentionables

Thank you for reading. Yes I wanted to capture the emotion and regret in the mind in such a situation.

Your words really do come from the heart. Sorry to ask this but I am perturbed: did all of this actually happen or is it a fabrication of your imagination?

Fabrication of my imagination

Thank you so much for reading.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lordmok from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.45 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50