Fighting DemonssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago

photo_2018-11-18_23-43-21.jpg

I woke up, it’s a Tuesday morning.
The sky’s red, outside rained thunder
They are here again for my life, failures of my past
I reached for a coffee, stumbled, fell and landed on a vodka.
A few more gulps cos it’s all I can do for myself.

I’ve tried to walk on waters
But now I’m drowning
When I can’t motivate myself
But I’m supposed to be the light at the end of the tunnel
So peeps be looking at me as they go through it.
Easier to be a motivational speaker
When it isn’t ya vibes that’s being strangled.

They are hitting on my windows.
These fucking demons want my soul.
Looked into my wallet, too broke can’t even pay attention.
Eyes sour, ‘m losing my erection.
This depression is gonna kill me.
Shit happens, we say.
We all fucked up at some points
Candles fall, wine spills
But do drunks ever lie?

They say love’s in the air
So I hold my breath
Wished I had the strength to pick up the pen
Or just blow a kiss.
I yelled, but my voice is not aloud
Bottled up too long
Emotions on a mission.

Like in a dream
‘m standing at the edge of a cliff
Gun cocked at my brain
If I’m gonna die, then I do it my way.
Then I saw mum
“mum, why are you here?”
“where’s Kaffy?, you can’t see me like this’’
I jumped up to hold her but she was gone
I’m in my room again sipping vodka.

But then it hit me.
I can’t die without fulfilling my promise
Walked up to the toilet, flushed the vodka
Picked up my tools and set to work again
I’m gonna fight this monster even to my last breath
“it’s okay to sometimes give up and die”
But hey Reaper, not today

Today, I FIGHT

photo_2018-11-18_23-43-21.jpg

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Wow! Beautiful play with words. You are the light at the end of the tunnel. We need your permission to shine. Please keep giving direction @lordjames

Yeah man.. That "weak erection" is one embarrassing gift alcohol always offer in the end.one knock off ones sad moment by getting drunk and when the drunk wears off,the moments appears, no we see that the "painkillers don't kill pain anymore, it's bringing us more". Bros you killed it and we are gonna hold on to these for real. Say no to drugs

This reminds me of some lines l have saved. Thanks for the beauty of this work @lordjames

Love the last line " yeah reaper not today"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63740.26
ETH 2618.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79