The Centenarian

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

2018-05-30-10-26-15.jpg


There was a 'sore thumb' in the heart of a blooming garden, - nothing but leaves toothed and spiny.
"He must be called The Centenarian, for just once in a hundred years such ugliness is born", - the plants thought.
And only the gardener knew about the kind of beauty that is worth waiting a century.

U5dsPuCRrcGBYFrmdAJXzjHQYxcsFxc_1680x8400.png

Aloe is called The Centenarian in my country, people believe that it blooms once in a century.
Original words and image

Sort:  

This prose poetry suits you - really felt like you gave yourself room to breathe life into the lines, and it worked, beautifully :) Made me think of that scene in Alice in Wonderland, where the plants ask Alice, "and just what kind of flower are you?". It takes an outsider's eye, or perhaps just one with better perspective, to see the truth hidden beneath.

Hey, Lazarus, guess what, I was inspired to write this when was beading to my son his bedtime story, I was surprised it clicked for you this way! It's as if you were there in the room, listening to me reading )) what an inexplicable connection...

Suits me)))) I just love that plant, my Centenarian, we're like Leon The Professional and his plant from the film ) - I take him with me everywhere, use his leaves to cure the wounds that life keeps bringing )

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Working Title post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

I love the look and feel of this poem. I can tell you were experimenting oh, and the experiment went well. Great job. 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82