You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemitschool Poetry Class - Critique Thursday Class #6 - 26/04/18 - Recording and Notes

in #poetry6 years ago

Oh my God! I missed such an interesting class and so grateful for the recording opportunity!! Guys and Guy, you're just awesome! Thank you so much for taking time and critiquing my poem, I don't write often, bit this time I was really inspired by the poem of @carmalain from the fifth critique class (if I remember it well) thinking of the Babylon tragedy made me write it and I'm glad that you, Guy, actually even mention it in your critique, I really appreciate your analysis and a deep look into the poem, you got a lot of what was intended to be there. Thank you, Daniel, for pointing out that by choosing the "conclusion in the end of a poem" option, we take a responsibility of not giving our reader much of a choice, I'll think about it next time, I so wanted to push this ending, you know me)). Tyger, I wanted to say that you felt exactly what meant by "intelligence and wit", that's so pleasant to know that there are people out there who actually understand you... Thank you all, guys! I'm learning with you and I'm doing what I've never done! No matter how tired I am the next Thursday, I'll be there)

Sort:  

We've mentioned that piece of Alain's, but we didn't critique it, the one about the Tower of Babel, because that poem is almost 2,000 words long :D

BTW, Katya, I really recommend breaking your reply above into multiple paragraphs. First, because you're covering multiple ideas here, so you should. Second, because it'd make it much easier to read ;-) You do tend to leave your comments as one block, so it's something to also keep in mind.

Also, it's good there are people like Tyger who get you, but do consider whether you want others to get you too, even if they are not exactly coming from the same place you are in. But maybe you don't want that to happen too much - as one of the charms of poetry is that different people read it in different ways. And that also ties into the "clear ending" message. The tension between wanting to be understood, and wanting to leave people room to read themselves into the poem.

As for this Thursday - don't come too tired, Katya. We care about you, so we don't want you to be in class when you should be asleep.
And we loved going over your poem, and you're making great strides in poetry-writing. Good job!

Haha, I must have read that piece of Alain and your critique after the class, it felt like a part of the class))

Thank you for the advice about breaking my comments into paragraphs, that's true, I tend to give the info as a full package, haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63560.19
ETH 3041.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49