Into the sea

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Ivan_Bilibin_045.jpeg


So different we are and yet alike
branches of a whole and mighty trunk,
that were dispersed with no permission
to meet each other, inhibition
is our permanent condition.

Breathing loneliness since
were taken apart piece by piece
bit by bit and yet we fit
as intelligence and wit.
Eventually
rivers
flow
into
the
sea.



Written by @liverussian
Inspired by Poetry Class of Steem Schools on Discord, join us here
The drawing is made by Russian artist Ivan Bilibin

Sort:  

Makes me think of that singular point at the beginning of the universe, before any matter existed, and from which everything we now know has sprung. Here we are as 'individuals', walking around, sharing atoms and ideas, most of which precede us by thousands if not millions of years. Maybe one day everything will be reunited :)

I like what you've done with the formatting in that last sentence - it really brings everything together to that single point, which of course reflects the sentiment of the poem itself. Nicely done!

Oh, Lazarus, the fact that you see such deep meaning in my words pleases me, for English is my second language (I started seriously learning it when I was 20 or so), and it takes a lot of thinking to not end up sounding like a five year old )))) ahaha, it might seem odd, but I worry a lot about my grammatical errors, feel the need to show my stuff to natives before posting.
I really aprecciate you seeing it deeper than just being about a personal tragedy!

We’re all driftwood headed towards the waterfall of chaos.

I'd like to think that something we're all headed towards is worth it)

At the beginning of my today's Steemit journey, and thanks to the recommendation of a friend, I found a great video "Pale Blue Dot" by Carl Sagan. Now I found your poem and I think my day couldn't have a better ending than this one. I really liked you poem.

I'm touched that my poem humbly complements Carl Sagan's thoughts on cosmology and our existence. And I can't describe the feeling of creating something that can make someone's evening a little better ) thank you!

oooooh how didi I miss this one <3 love it

I'm guilty as well in missing your pieces, you're too productive, Tyger! Thank you so much! Спасибо)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63560.19
ETH 3041.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49