A Poem for a Maid (An Original Poem)

in #poetry8 years ago

Hello again Steemers,

I wanted to post yet another poem I wrote a few years back while traveling with a drama team to perform in Plymouth, Massachusetts. Throughout our trip, we took many stops at gas stations, quick service restaurants, and of course, a few nights in motels. During our stay at one of these motels, I spontaneously felt the urge to write a poem to encourage the maid for all the hard work that motel and hotel maids do. (I doubt it's very fun) So this is what I came up with:

The vicious beasts of hotel rooms,
that stomp and clap and make large booms.
Towels flying all around,
bedsheets spread over the ground.

It seems they can't be human still,
as up upon their windowsill,
is stacks of food and trash in piles
and how could people be so vile?

But then the room cries out for joy,
"Olivia has come, oh boy!"
"My saving grace, A beautiful face"
And now the space, inside the place,
Is as clean as a glimmering dace.

The guests come back, You've left a smile,
that will last longer than a mile,
with a lovely style,
trust us, your service is worthwhile.

So keep being the best of the best,
even as your put to the test.
Keep coveting the callous cleaning
and summiting the superior sheening.

(I will add my quick "Goodbye" poem that I wrote for my fellow crew members and many pictures in my next Poetry post)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58331.25
ETH 2509.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34