I Thank my Lucky Stars (Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago

The louder you sang, the warmer I felt
For somewhere within, I felt your touch
Of a soul so far, yet so near
Beyond the boundaries of my body’s prison

The gates were open, I ceased to live
The norm I knew, that kept me at bay
For the hunger was greater than;
any praise of man

In time I felt, I had to die
To live a life of sober mind
To journey’s end with a guiding light
That fed the music that lit the soul

A cry of hope is all I needed
In hunger’s den the chains were hot
With loathing I felt from all the hate
That grounded me to hunger more

I thank my stars in many ways
That lent me a hand in the hour of need
To keep the music burning alive
Feeding the hearth with kindle wood of hope

With vision so wide I see it all now
That life is rich with fertile offerings
If only we knew our right to the table
We would despair in tune with our lucky stars

Image credit: Pixabay

Sort:  

Beautiful poem dear friend @linzo, congratulations

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94