Story of a leaf

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

FB_IMG_1526255403818.jpg

I started noticing the cracks in my skin,
As I fell off the tree, limb from limb.

There were tears in almost every part of me, scars from everytime I thought we could be.

Burns and patches covered my surface,
Each burn had a story, each patch had a purpose.

And as the breeze carried me afar,
I wished and prayed to land far apart
From all those that had skin so fair
And shiny surfaces with colors so rare.

Yet fate would not listen, what was new?
It placed me amongst those wretches that hid me from view.

I started counting my days as I lay
Not wanting people to see, i felt so astray
But she picked me up and marvelled at my burns.
My patches amazed her even I almost started to writhe and curl.

And as she picked up a paper to pen me down in poetry
I realized,
My scars brought out the beauty in me.

Sort:  

Good luck always

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by liltom from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68348.76
ETH 2644.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69