Your dad

in #poetry5 years ago

I'm scared of failure
And it's causing me to fail

I'm overcome by anger
I don't recognise myself

I have never felt lower
I'm destroying my health

Can anyone save me
Before I hurt myself

I've being crying out for help
As usual I'm talking to myself

I want the best for my kids
Thats always at the top of my list
I want my kids to grow up stronger
And live the life that I missed

I want them to show confidence
Instead of hiding from "what if"

I know they're gonna look at this one day
and it will all make sense
My dad was nothing more than a
workaholic drug abusing
Prick, who never knew how to live

Blaming the rejection and the town where he lived
He never got over the fact that his own dad had left
He never got over that he was next in the list
Of dad's who destroyed their wife and kids

Because he's nothing but a selfish prick
Always feeling sorry for himself what a joke
Always spending money on drugs when he's broke
Doesn't even know how to talk to his kids

Sorry kids, but your dad is a zero
One day you'll finally realise he's not a hero
Hopefully you'll not make the same mistakes as him
Life is not easy, once you learn, it's sink or swim

He never survived the social indoctrination
He's been hiding in kitchens, pretending
That what he's been doing has meant something
The truth is, he has actually achieved nothing

He realised he's been wasting his time
Putting food on plates, woopty fucking doo
Choosing this before his kids, he must be out his mind
But he has finally realised, it's part of the design

Still nothing changes, back to work he goes
Ignoring what he knows, and his own advice
Hiding from the truth, that he dying inside
Accepting that his life is just passing him by

He knows this is unacceptable,
He's known for most his life
The life he lives today, is a result of his own mind
They are reminders of decisions from the past,

Be careful what you wish for. Don't be afraid to ask for help
Don't be to hasty, take your time to know your mind
Think about the outcome, always clear yout thoughts
Before you make decisions that will affect not just your life

once you know the truth, that your choices define you
Then you will never want to be somewhere you shouldn't be
But your dad has spent his life being unhappy,
Regretting most of the choices he has made out of fear

Sort:  

Congratulations @lex-davidson! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33